Criticise my spec / do I need RAID?

• Hi all, I'm new to OMV and NAS in general. In order to gain familiarity, I tinkered with some old hardware which I thought I could re-purpose. My sig shows the hardware that I'm using. I've been away from the tech scene for quite a while so I don't really know what good looks like.

What are your thoughts? Is this a highly inefficient setup for a NAS? What is considered a good spec?

I have ordered two 8TB WD Red disks (16TB total). I have about 2TB worth of important data that I don't want to lose.. the rest is just media. Do I need RAID? Is my spec sufficient for a NAS? OMV works well so I think it is okay, however, I don't want to start using it in anger only to realise that I have a critical point of failure somewhere. Few more details:

- I've installed USB Backup - this works very well. I intend to backup my important data fortnightly or so. My issue with USB Backup is that the hard drive that I attach to the NAS always stays on. To counter this, I intend to manually connect the hard drive every 2 weeks, run USB backup overnight, then disconnect the drive in the morning.

- I intend to install syncthing (is this the most popular option?) in order to use the nas as a centralised file server to my laptop/PC/Mobile (in order to get away from dropbox)

- I'm presently using NFS. Should I be using ZFS?

Apologies for all the questions and muddled post. Hope this makes sense! Any feedback would be appreciated!

Thanks,
    RS

NAS OMV 3.0.59 Rig: DFI Lanparty nForce4 SLI-DR | Opteron 165 Dual Core (no overclock) | 4GB Corsair Non-ECC DDR400 RAM | OMV3: 1x100GB IDE | Data: 2x 250GB WD 7200rpm, 2x 3TB WD Red, 1x 4TB Samsung 5400rpm