Drive Pooling + Backup Strategy

• Hey guys,

I'm just getting started with OMV and am trying to figure out how to get the most (space) out of my built while still having a strong backup strategy.

I've got 3 external 2.5" USB drives (3TB, 3TB, 2TB), 6 internal 3.5" drives (1TB, 1.5TB, 2TB, 3TB, 3TB, 3TB) and am running OMV 3.0.59 on a Raspberry Pi 3. I plan on using my built as media server for Plex and for TimeMachine backups for the Macs in my network.

My original plan was to keep the external drives as main drives and just mirror them 1:1 to three internal drives with rsync, mirror two 3TB internals and use the rest for TimeMachine. I travel a lot and it would be nice to be able to just pull out one of the external drives and have a part of my media library with me. But now reading about drive pooling, snapraid, mergerfs etc. I'm not sure this is the smartest way to do this and quite frankly am getting a bit confused.

What would you recommend? Having two pooled drives and mirror them or would I gain more space with snapraid and parity disk(s)? Or is there a completely different approach that I'm missing?

I'd love to just have one big chunk of drive space but would still like to keep the possibility to take my external drives on the road with me. Is that doable?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
    V

• well you can sort of still have what you want and use SnapRaid and other.

I am a bit confused on how you can have internal drives if you are running on Pi.

I did not know you can connect SATA or other drives to it..

However putting that aside,
    I would build out an array using internal disks , if you use SnapRaid you can get about between 7TB and 10TB of space

1x3TB -- Parity + ( 1TB, 1.5TB, 2TB, 3TB, 3TB) -- data ~ 10TB
    2x3TB -- Parity + ( 1TB, 1.5TB, 2TB, 3TB) -- data ~ 7TB

and using mergerFs on top will give you a single volume to share leaving all the data on individual disks

than rsync to external drives as needed.