Setting Up Fibre Channel

• I already have a couple of Fibre Channel Cards I took out of a server, and I've been offered a HP StorageWorks AD542B Storage Array Shelf complete with drives, for what I consider a fair price.

The Shelf comes with
    PSU
    FCAL A AD623C IO Board
    FCAL B AD624C IO Board
    AD625B Controller

Obviously I will need some cables.

I have never used fibre channel before, and it does seem to be abit of a black art. Does anybody know if this lost going to work together, what I need to check etc, before I waste any money.

And is it going to be possible for me to connect this lot up to my OpenMediaVault box, and get them to play ball?

• What fibre Channel Cards do you have?

That is a Shelf of an EVA Storage Array and there are nearly no information available regarding those shelfs.

Can you please take a picture from the interface cards (please focus on the connectors) to find out what it could be?

Then I could tell you, what kind of cabling, you need.

Ser

Everything is possible, sometimes it requires Google to find out how.

• The Emulex Cards needs drivers from emulex. You can download them from http://www.emulex.com and there are also drivers for debian squeeze (6.0.x). I am not sure if the LP10ks are still in support and you can get any drivers, you need to give it a try. Howevery those cards require PCI-X ports, which may or may not exist in your "Server".
    Get your search started here:
    http://www.emulex.com/products…lse-lp10000/overview.html

The question of Interface did go into the direction of
    FCAL A AD623C IO Board
    FCAL B AD624C IO Board

I have no clue and there is no information available, what they can do. They could be copper based interface cards or fibre based cards (don't get confused by the word fibre channel, it also exists for copper cabling inside of storage arrays).

So before I can tell you what cable you actually need, I need to know the connections of the FCAL IO Boards.