​Help with reverse proxy needed

• Accessing an OMV box running a number of plugins/docker containers each with their own web pages can soon get messy with multiple IPs and ports.

It’s a common goal to access these various services through a URL like: mydomain.com/cloud, mydomain.com/lms, mydomain.com/pihole, etc. Or, as an alternative to a directory structure, to provide access via a URL like: cloud.mydomain.com, lms.mydomain.com, pihole.mydomain.com, etc.

How do you get from say “lms.mydomain.com” to “192.168.0.13:9000” in order to access the WebUI of a running logitech media server on your OMV box? The answer is to use a “middle man” that recognises and intercepts the http request for “lms.mydomain.com” and translates and routes it to “192.168.0.13:9000”. This “middle man” is another server, technically known as a “reverse proxy”.

Unfortunately, this is an area I have little knowledge of. Looking at OMV, I thought there might be three possible approaches to using a “reverse proxy”:

• Modify the configuration of the nginx server that provides the pages of the OMV webUI.
    • Use the omv-nginx plugin to configure a second separate nginx server as a reverse proxy.
    • If services are only provided via docker containers, then make use of this docker image: jwilder/nginx-proxy

The subject of “reverse proxy” produces about 150 hits scattered over time and place on the OMV forum. The guide written by subzero79 back in 2014 follows option 1 above. It may have (some of) the answers, but I cannot see that it has been updated for OMV3 in light of changes to nginx, and the guide was written pre-docker. The associated discussion thread doesn’t expand on it very much.

Daemon webUI access through prefix/hostname [Nginx] [Proxy_pass]
    Simple fast daemon host webgui access [Nginx]

I haven’t seen an example of anyone who has chosen option 2 above and so far I have struggled to make much sense of how the jwilder/nginx-proxy might work.