RAID on VM

• Hi,

I am new in this so maybe I will ask a stupid question, but searching the forum I didn't find the answer.

I have installed OMV3 on a VMWare ESXi 6.5 and on this server I have 2 x 1T HDD that are not in RAID
    Now I want to assign some HDD for OMV3, but don't know if it makes sense to make a RAID in OMV.

If I add 4 x 100GB virtual disk from the same physical to OMV and create a RAID 10 for example will it help me? From my logic makes no sense if the physical disk will crash on 4 virtual disk will crash. If there any reason for me to create a RAID on OMV side or not?

On Server side I don't want to create a RAID, as I will use ESXi just for testing some VM and the OMV I will install just for share and NextCloud, and the data that will be stored on NextCloud I want to back up them to some other NAS that I have at home.

P.S. If you know a thread about sync from OMV to some other NAS please let me know :)

Thanks.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Nope, there is no point in creating a raid array if all of the vmdks are on the same drive.

There is no way to create a raid array on ESXi. You have to use a hardware raid controller.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Nope, there is no point in creating a raid array if all of the vmdks are on the same drive.

There is no way to create a raid array on ESXi. You have to use a hardware raid controller.

Thanks.

Yes I know that I will have to use the hardware raid controller from the HP Microserver Gen8.

Because is more for testing the ESXi and the OMV3 will be used for NextCloud and for some share folders, I think it makes no sense at all to create a RAID and lose the 1TB HDD.