Suggested File Manager

• Hello,
    I've managed to install openmediavault 3.0.73 on a spare computer last weekend to use it as a home NAS.
    Since then, I've been able to configure everything and I'm pretty satisfied about the result (considering that it's my first time and that I have zero experience with Linux ^^ )

However, there's one thing I can't figure out myself.
    How can I install a file manager to move file from different partitions, without using a host computer?

What I've tried so far:
    1) SHELLINABOX + MIDNIGHT COMMANDER: this could probably work but I don't know how to make shared folders appear in midnight commander.

2) EXTPLORER: I see this is probably the most suggested option.
    The problem is: how do I install it? What version do I need to download?
    I've looked for it in the "unofficial plugin repo" by ryecoaaron but I can't find it.

3) PYDIO: I found a guide where they suggested to install a plugin called "openmediavault-website" first but I can't find it for openmediavault 3.0.73 and I'm kinda blocked.

Thank you for any help!! :)

• if you are moving files between shared folders then any computer can be used - just using finder (mac) or windows explorer.

If you want to get into the OMV file system, then using a FTP client and connect using SSH (SFTP) will allow you to connect to OMV and have full access to the file system. I use cyberduck on my mac and FTP client Pro on my iPad/iphone.

All you need to do is install the FTP client and setup a SSH or FTP connection to OMV.

I don't think you need or would want to do this task from within the OMV GUI.

Hope this helps but not sure if I am understanding your question.

• but I don't know how to make shared folders appear in midnight commander

You can use the remoutmount plugin from the OMV-extras testing repo. With it you can mount a share of the host comuter to the mount folder in OMV (/mnt or /srv). Then you can see it also with Midnight Commander.