Slow Samba, Fast FTP

• Hey guys this is my 1st post on the Forum, i hope its in the right area.

I have been running Freenas perfectly for the last 18 months, i have just installed OMV3 on the same machine and am having Samba performance issues.

Board: Asrock G41C-GS
    CPU: Core2 Duo E7500
    4GB DDR3 Ram (Tried 8GB on OMV with no performace change, always ran 8GB with Freenas)
    3x 1TB 2.5" sata hdd's, seperate no raid (all can read/write over 100MB/sec, used with Freenas)
    Onboard Realtek Gigabit Lan (am currently running an Intel based PCI-e 1Gb Lan card with no difference)

Samba Read from OMV to My PC SSD copys at 110MB/sec for a few seconds then drops to about 30-40MB/s untill finished, CPU usage 95%, Load Avg 3~6 & Wait-IO on OMV shows VERY high, PC to OMV is much faster at a constant 110MB/s and about 60% cpu.

FTP read & write is constant 100ish MB/s with about 50% cpu load.

I have tried MOST of the Samba tuning tweaks (max smb2 etc etc) with the same result every time, also as above i am trying an Intel PCI-e Lan card with the same exact result, Freenas on this same setup was always Reading & Writing at 105MB/s with very low CPU & Load Avg, Any ideas?????

Thanks in advance :)

• You did not mention, but I bet you use OMV3 ? :rolleyes:
    Edit: You did mention it, sorry...

Now you know, why I use OMV2...had the same issue.

--
    Get a Rose Tattoo...

HP t5740 with Expansion and USB3, Inateck Case w/ 3TB WD-Green
    OMV 5.5.23-1 Usul i386|4.19.0-9-686-pae

• Offizieller Beitrag

32 or 64 bit OMV?

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!