Please help!!! Broke OMV

• Hi Guys,

I am very new to OMV, Linux (and NAS) In general so please excuse my ignorance!

I have a Rpi3 connected to a Seagate 1TB external HD I would like to use as a NAS. Over the weekend, I successfully got Samba and DLNA to work on a NTFS formatted drive. Well, after realizing how painfully slow transfers are (1MB/second) and reading about how much quicker EXT4 is, I decided to start over from scratch.

Last night, I formatted the external storage drive as EXT4, formatted the SD card and reflashed OMV (just to have a fresh start). I did get it to work UNTIL I attempted to create a subfolder on the shared network drive from within Windows 10. It allowed me to create the folder but then about 10 seconds later, OMV became completely unresponsive. I could no longer access the network drive OR log into the system with my browser. I rebooted my Pi and now OMV is completely unresponsive….I still cannot access the drive or log into OMV via browser, putty or WinSCP. What did I do????? =(

I apologize for my ignorance but is the problem that Windows 10 doesn’t ‘play well’ with the EXT4 file system, therefore I can’t create subfolders from within Windows? Do I have to do this from OMV? Isn’t SMB supposed to allow me to use Windows with this file system?

Thank you so much for any input you can give me…I was so frustrated last night! :(

• Offizieller Beitrag

after realizing how painfully slow transfers are (1MB/second) and reading about how much quicker EXT4 is, I decided to start over from scratch.

This has nothing to do with the filesystem. The RPi is just slow since it has 100MB networking that is on a shared USB bus with the drive.

the problem that Windows 10 doesn’t ‘play well’ with the EXT4 file system

Windows talks to samba. Windows has no idea what filesystem you are using underneath it.

What RPi image did you use? Are you sure your RPi is getting enough power? Is the external drive powered by the RPi or something else?