OMV 3.0.x SMB/CIFS Issues

• Hi,

I'm new to OMV so I've built NAS from a dell optiplex using x 2 1tb drives in raid1 and OMV is installed directly onto a 16gb flash drive and installed via a smaller 2gb flash drive. I grabbed the latest version of OMV openmediavault_3.0.86-amd64 from the website and created a bootable flash drive, everything installed and it was up and running (awesome!). I then proceeded to create the raid 1 and left it syncing, at that point I thought this is fantastic and then I proceeded to the final setup of creating a user/share and enabling SMB/CIFS and FTP as a test.

Unfortunately this is where my problems started, the machine is not visible on the network (everything else works fine including another samba server and tested on win 10/7 machines) and I can't even get to it directly via \\machine_ip. I thought this was a bit strange so checked my configuration and even restarted but the same issue persisted. I then decided to try FTP using 100% correct creds and that failed to make a connection as well, I had read about issue with the latest BETA so decided to try openmediavault_3.0.74-amd64 alas the same issue persists but everything was working great.

I'm now installing openmediavault_2.1_amd64, does anybody have any ideas to why I'm experiencing these SMB/CIFS and FTP access issues? I might add that SSH and the web admin works fine no issues, OMV looks great but it's a shame about these annoying problems.

Thanks
    Daniel

• Offizieller Beitrag

Maybe watch my video to see if you setup your system differently? https://github.com/OpenMediaVault-Plugin-Developers/videos

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.