ESXI6.5 - NFS NOOB

• I'm a noob in many ways here, to storage especially.
    I want to create an NFS share (named OMVnas) for storing ESXI vms. I have been playing with permissions, and I still think I'm getting denied by the user that I created (using NFS4). I allow the subnet, and I'm trying to keep this as simple as possible, however, when I add the share to ESXi, it cannot map the directory. It shows its there, as seen below.

possibly I need a primer, but at this point, I only want my esxi user and my Admin users to have access to this. Thank you in advance.

Code
    root@omvNuc:/export# showmount -e
    Export list for omvNuc:
    /export          192.168.29.0/24
    /export/VM_Store 192.168.29.0/24

Adding logs from OMV. Does that 'NO PERMISSION' have to do with why I can't see anything... if so, I don't know how to fix it! I've toggled everything I can think of lol.

• So, here are the things I did to overcome these issues. I don't know if they are "best practice," but what the heck, I don't know what I'm doing:

1. In the NFS options I added this: subtree_check,no_root_squash
    2. I think that made it insecure, but no authentication was needed
    3. I made client my ESXI subnet.
    4. Now I can properly Add my NFS to ESXI
    5. Now I can upload VMs, create directories, subdirectories on share.
    6. There are still issues, for example, when I go to edit the settings of a VM, I get "An Error Occurred, Please try again". I have no idea if that is the VM, or related to the NFS.

Questions: is this secure, or is there a better way?

What does putting a quota on that share mean? I don't have a user authenticating, so that should mean that the space is "unlimited" for that NFS?

Any clarification would be great.

• Offizieller Beitrag

1. In the NFS options I added this: subtree_check,no_root_squash
    2. I think that made it insecure, but no authentication was needed