SSD Cache (bcache) for OpenMediaVault?

• THere is bcache tools in Debian Stretch and bcache module in bpo stretch kernel. There is nothing implemented in omv UI or backend to handle bcache.

Ah I see, thanks!

also I am new to bcache, I heard it but i still don’t know what’s so good about it. Can You elaborate on the benefits ?

Frankly, I am new to this too, what I understand so far is that I can just add a SSD to the NAS and can use this as a cache for the HDDs so that reads and writes can be faster

That means

• you have a SMB performance problem?
    • you analyzed the various potential bottlenecks already?
    • and came to the conclusion that random IO performance is too low?

More like I realised that my bottleneck was the HDDs themselves since I am using 10 Gbe now (initial burst of 300 to 400 MB/s, constant 150 MB/s), current options include using Windows Server OS that has SMB improvements like SMB Direct instead of OMV, changing to RAID or ZFS, using bcache, or simply living with this.

• More like I realised that my bottleneck was the HDDs themselves since I am using 10 Gbe now

Yeah, that explains why you're thinking about bcache but I doubt it will help that much since by default it recognizes sequential writes and passes them through. I's a great addition if you rely on anachronistic RAID modes (eg. a RAID6) since such a RAID shows high sequential performance but sucks totally at random IO. This is where bcache can shine since it accelerates especially random writes.

Then bcache acts somewhat similar to a L2ARC cache with ZFS caching most accessed stuff on SSD(s) that doesn't fit into ARC (physical memory dedicated as cache). In other words: this is something that works fine on servers but not that good with most (home) OMV installations where a different data usage pattern applies.