My NAS build - Server quality :)

• Hello, I hope the community doesn't mine my first post a question and discussion on my setup! A little back ground... I would consider myself tech savvy, but I have never built or run a server before. I have also never user Linux, setup a bare metal or VMM server.

I want to build a server primarily for personal back up and storage of movies to stream to my Boxee. I would also like to run a Minecraft server for my co-workers, family and friends. On top of all that, I would like to build a Cloud server, so I get to my stuff at work, upload photos as I go, and maybe even stream a movie to my iPad when I am on the train in the morning and at night.

Here is my build as it stands.
    LIAN LI PC-V354B
    SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCM-F-O
    Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2
    Memory - HP ECC DDR3 1333 4x 8GB
    Rosewill Fortress 550w
    8Gb Flash - USB 2.0
    4x WD - Red 3TB
    1x Samsung SSD

I guess like most people, I was going to try FreeNAS, hence the server quality build. On my community forums someone suggested I look at OMV as an alternative. So far, from my research, I am really liking the fact I can add drive to my raid without destroying my data pool. Also it seem the hardware requirements at not as high (I can not find the "minimum requirements" on the main page).

Few questions...

What are the minimum and maximum hardware requirements for OMV?
    How would you setup my setup? Run OMV from my SSD, or a USB Stick? Is there a benefit to even having a SSD vs. regular HDD.
    Can OMV support a Minecraft server from its OS, Can I even run one?

I'll have a lot more questions... but that is a good start!

• Use an SSD as the system drive. Looking at your components you are well above any kind of minimum. There are 32bit ISO's so I would say that is minimum and maybe 1 gig ram for 32 bit. With 64 bit I would say any low end 64 bit processor from amd/intel and 2 gigs of ram.