Openmediavault Versions for Intel

• I have been building and screwing around with computers for quite a few years and it has been a long time since I have messed with Linux and the last time I tried to build a server I could only get network transfer speeds of 10 to 12 MBs so I gave up on it to turn it into a HTPC with a lot of internal storage. Was trying to get back into building a server and Openmediavault sounded very promising but I keep running into road blocks. I started off with version 2.1 as the was the version that was in the guide I was following but I was having a hard time getting any to work properly. I then found source forge download page and downloaded the newest version and didn't even think about the file name had AMD64 in it and now I have having many more issues like not being able to transfer over my network and getting kicked out of my sessions with the message SOFTWARE FAILURE.

Looking back at the downloads page is the newest version of Openmediavault for Intel 3.0.36 from Sept 2016?

I did try searching the forums for a few days for answers before starting a new post. Normally I just like to search for the answer and figure things out but I needed to ask a dumb question.

Intel Core i7-3770
    8 Gigs Ram
    60 SSD main
    10 TB WD Red

• Looking back at the downloads page is the newest version of Openmediavault for Intel 3.0.36 from Sept 2016?

Latest release for download is 4.1.3 from 30.3.2018 and amd64 is correct. You might end with 4.1.4 after successful install and update via OMV WebGui.

If you don't know how to install: Getting Started with Openmediavault

OMV 4.1.4-1 Arrakis on intel platform
    OMV 3.0.99 Erasmus on ARM platform

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von Tinkerisk ()

• So the “amd64” and “i386” part of the file names has nothing to do with what hardware it should used on?

openmediavault_4.1.3-amd64.iso

openmediavault_3.0.36-i386.iso