How to "update" Docker images/container?

• Hello,

I'm very new to docker but since there is no SABnzb anymore I had to deal with the docker plugin. I've read some tutorials on the forum and after some tinkering I finally managed to get a SABnzb container up and running. :)

Now I see that there is a new version of the SABnzb image but I don't find any information on how to properly "update" an image/container? I just found another thread on this forum where someone else asked the same question and was told to only update when really necessary. :huh: This doesn't answer his (and my) question. So given the situation that a docker image HAS to be updated because of a security vulnerability of the enclosed application - what do I have to do in this situation?

I had a hard time configuring the container because some paths and variables (inside and outside of the container) are not self explaining. So I don't want to destroy my work accidentally.

Thanks in advance for your help!

• There's another Docker container called "Watchtower" that can update your other containers automatically for you on a set schedule and retain your configuration. I don't use it personally, but there are some discussions about it on this forum.

• Offizieller Beitrag

How do you update your images?

( @macom - Forgive me for butting in.)

I don't auto-update either. I've seen a couple instances of flawed image updates, published by the authors of Dockers. Since I don't want to auto-update my way into a failed Docker, I manually build a new container every time using the older (outside) configuration parameters if they're compatible. (That's another reason to rebuild manually - in some cases older config files and parameters are not usable in newer containers.)

And a new container build is done on a backup boot drive, so there's a back-out option. :)

• Ok, now I installed Watchtower like described in this video:
    https://forum.openmediavault.o…?postID=177009#post177009