disk unmounted alone

• Hi,
    I am new to OMV but I succeed in installing and make it work properly.

then I have installed and mounted a first HDD with no issue.
    after a week, I decided to mount a second HDD and succeed. I have transfered datas on it with no issue.

a few days later, I discovered an issue with second HDD. my computer could browse the content but when I launch an AVI file, windows told me that the file was missing (on all AVI or MKV of the harddrive).

so I reboot my OMV machine and then I see in the GUI that the hard drive is not mounted anymore.
    HDD is visible in the disk list but the status is "missing" in the file system.
    If I go on the command line and type "fdisk _l" the hdd is here under /dev/sdc

it is like the mounted disk dismounted itself and I can't get back.

please help me, I have done many search but could not find the solution

• Thanks for your message.

I use a HP microserver with OMV installed on internal ssd. it has 4 sata ports so I can plug 4 HDD. one of them is working fine 4TB and the one not working is a western digital 2TB.

I don't know if it is enough

• hi, anyone encountered the same issue please?

I have searched on the forum for days and still cannot find a way to retreive my datas.

help me obiwan kenobi U R my only hope

• Offizieller Beitrag

I have experienced similar problems with my HC2s and Seagate IronWolf HDDs.

I figured out that if I modified any the physical disk properties: (Edit on the Disk).

Advanced Power Management
    Automatic Acoustic Management
    Spindown Time
    Write Cache

...then the HDDs would unmount themselves after a short while, and fail to mount on reboot. And a backup system drive SD-card had to be used to recover. I couldn't figure out how to repair the configuration. But I didn't work on it very long.