Disk not showing under RAID management tab

• Hi all,

I'm quite new to OMV and trying to setup a NAS. I used to be on FreeNAS but for multiple reasons, decided to go onto OMV. I've built a new install on a USB of OMV4, updated all the features and now am under 4.19 OMV with Linux kernel 4.17, if I'm not mistaken.

On FreeNAS, I had 2 Seagate 2TB drives in mirror and I bought 2 new HD to increase capacity. I'm not looking at transferring data from FreeNAS to OMV (I read that the ZFS systems are not exactly compatible so I copied everything on an external hard drive).

When I want to create a RAID, I can not see the drives under RAID management > Create, while I can see them under Disks. I have wiped both of them beforehand (quick erase, not a secure one). The interesting bit is that I can see the two new disks but not the old ones.

Other pieces of info
    Proliant microserver N54L
    8Gb RAM

Any thought will be more than welcome!

• Thanks a lot for the very quick reply (I did read it much earlier but am only taking the time to respond now). I have started the process to secure wipe the first disk. I will keep you posted with the result. I had already started wiping my disks a week ago but a power cut stopped the process at 95% after 3 days. That's why I was wondering if there was another solution that would not take 3 days...

I also have a couple of related questions
    - Do you know if it's possible to secure wipe multiple disks at once? I could not see the option in the webui
    - Can I close the window (and shut down my computer) once the process is started? If so, how can I monitor the progress?
    - Finally, is there a command in the terminal that launches this function?

Thanks again!

• It worked. The secure wipe just finished and the drive showed in the RAID folder. I will just have to duplicate over the next 3 days.

Still interested to know if it's possible to secure wipe multiple disks at once :)

Thanks!

• Offizieller Beitrag