Can't add shared folders

• Hi Community,

As I am planning to install OMV on a HP N54L soon I first installed it on a VM to see if it fits my requirements. There following problem occurred:

After creating multiple partitions using CLI they appear in "Filesystems", but when I want to add a shared folder there are no Volumes available to select. All I did was creating 4 partitons using "fdisk", formatting them with ext4 using "mkfs", mounting them into "/media/subfolderForEachPartition", as well as adding them to "fstab" to have them mounted at boot using following line (adapted for each partition) :
    "/dev&sdb1 /media/sdb1 auto defaults 0 0 "
    (As I am new to Linux I don't really know what that line exactly means, just found it in a tutorial.)

I know that OMV is not designed to have multiple partitions, however, I would be pleased if there would be a possibility to use them because I want to limit the available storage space for each shared folder.

• You need to mount the partitions in the web-gui of OMV. You could format the partitions in the web-gui also. The only thing you need to do outside of the web-gui to achieve what you are after is create the partitions.

• Well, that I've found out already. But I wanted to mount them in CLI because otherwise they are mounted into folders with a long name consisting of appearingly random chars. Is there any way to achieve that? (I know that I could use a link but I want to decide where they are mounted to ^^)

• Offizieller Beitrag

Mount them in the web interface and symlink that folder to an easy to remember location.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!