SSH for newbie

• I hope it's the right session.
    I'm new to linux and omw and I would like to know how to access the cards I created and then move the files inside.
    do I have to log in as root or as a simple user?
    if I do cd / home and then ls -l I can not find folders and if I do cd /New folder directly appears bash: cd: / new folder: File or directory does not exist,
    where am I wrong?
    sorry but I'm a newbie and sorry for the english :/

• what do you mean by "cards you created"?

In order to avoid messing up file permissions its best to move files around remotely using samba shares or FTP or NFS, etc. If you want to do it on OMV via SSH, the files are located in the /srv directory. The home directory would be on the system disk and nothing should be in there.

• La ringrazio molto per la risposta,
    scusa ma ho sbagliato a scrivere e volevo dire cartelle
    Vorrei semplicemente spostare i file da A a B senza dover utilizzare un client che ridurrebbe notevolmente il tempo se non mi sbaglio, come dovrei fare esattamente?
    / srv mostra il mio filesystem ma come posso accedere alle cartelle all'interno?

• Warlock,
    What JollyRgr is saying, is that as OMV is a NAS or Network Attached Server, it is better to access it through the client you are using with your User name and password.

You should set up network drive(s) on your primary access computer and manipulate the file locations from it.

Can you do it from the command line. Sure. Should you, NO, that is why we have "Windows" whether those "Windows" are on a linux, apple, or windows computer.
    If you are moving files within the folders, there shouldn't be any latency when you are manipulating files within the server. Latency only really comes when you are moving them off the server or to the server, and that depends on the speed of your connection between server and computer. :thumbup: