Need help with VPN

• Hi all , as per title I need help to choose and setup a VPN
    I am totally new to this and after 3 days of reading all my ideas I are mixed ....... if at the start looked easy now I am totally confused
    Most important thing is to be able to get a secure connection to my OMV from outside my network
    I've been trying to use one of the tutorial found on the forum and setup the openVPN on OMV like this

GENERAL SETTINGS
    Port : 1194
    Protocol : UDP
    Use compresion : yes ( was active by default )
    PAM authentication : no
    Logging level : normal usage output

VPN NETWORK
    Address : 10.8.0.0
    Mask : 255.255.255.0
    Gateway interface : enp4s
    Default Gateway : enabled
    Client to client : disabled

DHCP options
    DNS server : 8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4,1.1.1.1
    DNS search domain : nothing
    WINS server : nothing

PUBLIC
    Public address : name.asuscomm.com (name is my actual user)

Saved , certificate created and downloaded

I am using OpenVPN app on my android
    Imported and saved the certificate with no errors
    Stuck at <waiting for server>

If I go on AiCloud ( default Asus app for network acces) I can see and all my network even using WOL and get files from folders but not sure how secure is this way
    Also I have an option to encrypt the connection with Let's encrypt..........

My all network is behind an Asus RT AC88-U running Merlin software
    I am using DDNS on my router ( I guess everyone figure out from the public address)
    OMV has a static IP on my network but my ISP IP is dynamic even it didn't change for the last couple months

For most of my browsing I am using Opera with VPN activated but on local network is deactivated and I can use this only for other things

From what I understand about how the DDNS is working if I type < name.asuscomm.com> I should get on my network or at least on my router?
    If thats the case I get no result from this < that site can't be reached>