LUKS 3.0.3 Encryption Setup Issues/Advice

• Hello,

I'm very new to Linux and even newer to OMV so please go easy.

I recently brought a Terranas F4-220 and have added 2GB RAM, put a 120GB SSD in and removed the original USB boot drive to make way for OMV.

I managed to build and prep my headless install via VirtualBox and I am now up and running, however I have hit some issues on LUKS.

Desired outcome;
    2x 1.5TB Drives in RAID mirror utilising encryption
    2x 4TB Drives in RAID mirror standard (Plex media etc - currently synchronising)
    1x 120GB OS SSD (already going)

I followed some steps to WIPE the 2 1.5TB's in Disks under the OVM webgui, then proceeded to pick the first drive 'sda' and Create to make my first encryption setting the initial/primary key - great.
    The following advice I went to create a second additional key for everyday use (before I planned to backup the header) using 'Keys > Add' this generated the following error (passkeys removed)
    Unable to add the key to the encrypted device: Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; /bin/bash -c 'echo -n 'MASTERKEY' | cryptsetup luksAddKey -q '/dev/sda' <(echo -n 'NEWKEY')' 2>&1' with exit code '127': sh: 1: pj5?Rc=M6 | cryptsetup luksAddKey -q /dev/sda <(echo -n NEWKEY): not found

I figured maybe because the drive was blocked - so unblocked and tried again - same.

So after a few failed attempts I decided no problem I will start again.
    The delete option wasn't available so I went to Disks and performed a wipe while the drive was unblocked - all looked good and the Encryption had gone.

Went to Create again and noticed the select device designation still holds what I believe to be encryption since the device is called /dev/mapper/sda-crypt and the decrypted device is called /dev/mapper/sda-crypt-crypt