Dismounted partitions after boot Odroid HC2

• Hey,

I'm having issues with my OMV 4.1.14-1. and Odroid HC2 with ext4 partitions on a WD Red.
    I'm very new to it and I completely lack most knowledge about Linux.
    I am using an Odroid HC2 with a WD Red 4TB, partitioned via SSH and the internal Debian (Armian?) tool into 2 ext4 partitions.
    However, booting sometimes fails, or takes soo long that I perceive it to be failed (so I disconnect the power) and when it finally does boot the partitions are unmounted and 2 partitions are missing and named rather odd ( /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD40EFRX-....-part1 and -part2)
    The naming suggests it is my WD Red, which is still connected and 2 "normal" partitions on the WD Red are also available, but not mounted initially.
    Is the issue anything to worry about? Does the HC2 fail to boot or is s.m.a.r.t. or anything else causing it to just take far too long?

I'd be happy for some insight.

• Offizieller Beitrag

See this thread, it might help:

Odroid HC2 8TB WD red too big?

TL;DR

Don't touch/disable any changes to the physical disk properties. Update SATA and set spindown there. Reinstall from scratch if the installation still is corrupt after that.

• Hey thanks,
    I went through the thread and the odroid wiki, but I don't understand how to upload the firmware updater for the sata controller to the HC2.

"
    Download JMS578 F/W updater and upload it to your HC1, HC2 and USB3.0 to SATA Bridge Board Plus
    jms578fwupdater.tgz

root@odroid:~# ls
    JMS578FwUpdater.tgz
    root@odroid:~# tar xzf JMS578FwUpdater.tgz
    root@odroid:~# ls -l
    total 308
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Nov 1 05:34 JMS578FwUpdater
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 309402 Nov 1 05:35 JMS578FwUpdater.tgz
    root@odroid:~# cd JMS578FwUpdater
    root@odroid:~/JMS578FwUpdater# ls -l
    total 4648
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 50688 Nov 1 14:34 JMS578-v0.1.0.5.bin
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4130828 Apr 19 12:06 JMS578FwUpdate