Plex issues

• Hello, first of all - I'm totally new in this linux/OMV/NAS world, but I like it so far.

I have managed to create my own NAS with OMV running on it. I followed a guide that showed how to set up Plex media server with OMV-Extra's. Not through "Docker" which I don't know what is, but I saw another guide setting it up that way.

Well, when I want to play a movie it says: "Conversion failed. A required codec could not be found or failed to install".

I downloaded the log files, but which file/content do I need to provide to you guys before you are able to help me out?

There is also some other things that I'm struggeling with, but this is the most important for me. Maybe I will ask about them if we managed to solve the first one.

Thanks for your time and I wish you all a merry christmas :)

• Offizieller Beitrag

I followed a guide that showed how to set up Plex media server with OMV-Extra's. Not through "Docker" which I don't know what is, but I saw another guide setting it up that way.

The plugin is going away. Please use the docker. This video should make it easy to get it installed - Installation and Setup Videos - Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Well, when I want to play a movie it says: "Conversion failed. A required codec could not be found or failed to install".

You should use Docker as suggested, but that error is related to what you are using to play the movie and the movies file format or Plex is not doing a transcode.

Most movies will play with no issues using either VLC or Kodi.