Low Data Transfer Speed within Shared Folders

• Hi Everyone, Merry Christmas!

I'm quite new to OMV and this is my first post, please go easy on me!

I'm having a transfer speed issue (at least I think it should be way faster)

My setup is as follow:
    - Raspberry Pi 3b+
    - OMV 4
    - 3 HDD (1 x 500GB 2.5, 1 x 1TB 2.5, 1 x 2TB 3.5) connected to a 5V powered USB3.0 HUB which is connected to the PI
    - Formatted as EXT4
    - Combined to a Linear Raid (JBOD I believe is that called)
    - Sufficient power supply (5V for the PI and USB hub; 12V for 3.5 HDD)
    - Connected to router via network cable

I use it mostly as a media server (plex) along with transmission

Shared folders are:
    - AppData (currently empty)
    - Downloads (for transmission)
    - Media (for plex)

The issue now is as follow:
    When I copy downloads (on my windows laptop, mapped network drive) from the "Downloads" folder to one of the sub-folders in "Media" the transfer speed fluctuates somewhere between 2.5 - 3.5 MB/sec.
    When I upload files from my computer to OMV its around 5-8MB/sec, download is about the same.

I notice that the transfer speed goes up (ie to 3.5MB/sec) but then goes down to 2.5MB/sec, then it goes up again, down again and so on.

This is a new setup. The previous setup (only 1 drive 500GB directly connected to the PI) copying within shared folders was super fast and download speed was quite stable at 12MB/sec.

Appreciate any feedback!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Since you have downloads and media on separate shares, moving files between them means a round-trip of your network from the server to the laptop and back again.

This is because as far as the laptop is concerned media and downloads are two separate filesystems. The laptop has no way of knowing that they both are parts of the same filesystem on the physical drives.

If you instead had a single shared folder, perhaps "shared_files", then moving files would be instantaneous.