advice to configure snapRaid

• Hello,
    Sorry for my poor english :S
    I am a beginner with snapraid. i read some thread and documentation about snapraid but i still ask myself what is the better way to configure it.
    i explain:
    I have
    HD1 sda 2To
    HD2 sdb1 1To
    HD2 sdb2 1To
    HD3 sdc1 500Go
    HD3 sdc2 2,5to

today, datas are on HD1 , HD2 and the sdc1 partiction of HD3 (500Go )

for you, what are the best ways to configure snapraid to "backup" all datas ? the way to avoid the maximum loss ?

Thank you all and best wishes for the festive season

• Offizieller Beitrag

Adding drives to SNAPRAID is straight forward.

Install the plugin.

In the Drives TAB, add your drives. (The prerequisites are that drives are formatted and mounted.)

- As you add drives, note that at least two drives MUST have a content file. Without at least one good copy of the content file, recovery is not possible. (It would be best to set content files on two of the larger drives.)
    - The parity drive must be the largest drive. (This is required for the parity calculation. In your case that would be the 2.5TB drive.)

In scheduled tasks, I would automate a SYNC job to make sure it gets done. In the following the job kicks off at 01:00AM every Sunday. (Since a sync job will take some system resources, this is best done after-hours.)

• hello,
    thanks for your answer. one other question please ;)
    when you said "largest drive", do you mean "largest partition" ?
    because my largest partition is 2,5To, but it is on a 3To drive :)
    thanks a lot and happy new year

• Offizieller Beitrag

No, I meant the largest physical drive. While I haven't tried it, I'm guessing you can split drives up into block devices using partitions, but this would add complexity to a restore and it could mean the loss of data.

For the parity drive, partitioning doesn't make sense.