Pulling my hair out trying to connect to SMB shares on a Mac

• Hi I'm new to OMV and have set up my server with 4 drives in SnapRAID and with unionfs for the 3 data drives

I want to use SMB for a shared Win/Mac network and also AFS is being depreciated. But I can't get even get AFS working anyway.

When I connect as a user through the Finder sidebar - I get error "The operation can’t be completed because the original item for “foo” can’t be found." After I connect to the server via IP in Connect to server area (command K) and try to mount a share I get "You do not have permission to access this server".

Nothing I do seems to change this at all. I'm running El cap and Mojave computers that both have this issue.

It did briefly work when I had one share in guest only mode but I can't even get that working again.

Things i've tried:

• Recreating user accounts
    • Putting user under admin and adm group
    • Resetting permissions
    • Modifying ACL for user read/write and also tried with user group
    • Assigning a user as share owner in ACL
    • Created shares that are guests allowed
    • And shares that are guests only
    • Connecting to the server via the IP (command K)
    • Connecting to the server through finder
    • Setting SMB min protocol to SMB2 and max to SM3 via extra options
    • Tried turning on AFS and also using only AFS, can't seem to connect via AFS either.
    • Checked that browsable is turned on.
    • Offizieller Beitrag

While leaving what you have configured as it is:

Try building a test shared folder and putting it on the network with SMB/CIF, as it is described in this guide starting on page 46. You can name it what you like, but use the permissions and SMB settings as described in the guide. (Put nothing in extra options)

If it works and you can access it from Windows or the Mac, then we'll look closer at permissions.