Should I change my server name?

• Hi,

I've set up my OMV (third time's the charm!) and am following TDL's video and referring to the docs pages, but I have a few variations that make me wonder whether I should change some things.

In particular, I have a static I.P. address, with a domain name pointing to it.

I had to do a net install of Debian, because of my hardware's UEFI setup, and put my domain name in during the installation. I also gave my server a hostname. Should I change the hostname in OMV General Settings to agree with that? Also, should I put my domain name in the same page? (Home/system/network)

Additionally, I'd like to make a local static I.P. address, as the docs say that is best. If I set the static address in Home/system/network/interfaces, do I need to also make the IP address a reserved client on my router?

• I also gave my server a hostname. Should I change the hostname in OMV General Settings to agree with that?

Personally I have no experience which such a setup. But in general a host can have only one name in the network (in a standard configuration). So I would recommend to use the same name in the OMV settings.

If I set the static address in Home/system/network/interfaces, do I need to also make the IP address a reserved client on my router?

Routers have usually different address ranges for static IP and DHCP IP addresses. These ranges can be configured in the router settings. The IP address choosen for OMV must be in the address range reserved for static IPs.

But most modern routers have the availability to reserve always the same IP address also for DHCP clients. In this case you can configure OMV for DHCP but gets always the same IP address nevertheless.

OMV 3.0.100 (Gray style)

ASRock Rack C2550D4I C0-stepping - 16GB ECC - 6x WD RED 3TB (ZFS 2x3 Striped RaidZ1) - Fractal Design Node 304 -

3x WD80EMAZ Snapraid / MergerFS-pool via eSATA - 4-Bay ICYCube MB561U3S-4S with fan-mod