Rsync manually

• Really dumb question, but if I want to setup an rsync job but only execute it manually, do I simply not enable any of the time options in the setup? Or would it be easier to just do it manually when I want to via CLI?

My problem is I don't quite understand the time option terminology so i'm not sure how to set a job to not run on a schedule and only be executed manually.

Thanks....

• Offizieller Beitrag

The timing on them, is a little odd, IMO.. but it works once you get the hang of it. I'm by no means an expert, but this has been my general experience. What really got me, was the minutes setting... but once I got the hang of it, it was easy.

Example below 1:
    https://imgur.com/MWvsFWk

This one will run every day, at 0800. It will run one time at the top of the hour (thus the 0 in the minutes section). If you leave that set to *, it will run over and over for the full 0800 hour, until it hits 0900. If you set it to say, 10.. it will run over and over until 0810. This is probably whats frustrating you, as it did me...lol. This one is unaffected by shutdowns, power failures, etc. If the NAS is on at 0800, it will run. If it's not, it will wait until the next time it is on at 0800, and then run.

Example 2:
    https://imgur.com/mcVv5fi

This one will run every 8 hours (notice the "N Hour" trigger is enabled), one time at the top of the hour. The same rule as above applies, if you leave it set to *, its going to run over and over for the full 8th hour. Set it to 10, and it's going to run over and over for 10min, of the 8th hour. I should note this is server up time. So if you shut down your server, power failure, etc.. when you boot back up, the 8 hours starts over (or as best I can tell it is)

Example 3:
    https://imgur.com/JH8QSNx

This one, will run every 21 days, and on the 21st day, it will run every 8 hours, at 0 minutes. Same rule applies to shutting down, power failures, etc.

Example 4:
    https://imgur.com/a/keZo1tE