Building an AMD OMV box

• Hi,

I'm new with building NAS. Just got a deal the other day on these hardware:

Processor: AMD A4 6300
    Board: Biostar A70U3P
    RAM: 4GB Hynix DDR3 1600

When looking for more info on building NAS I came across some post on other forums that some NAS OS like FreeNAS and NAS4Free don't play well with AMD processor cos their lineage from FreeBSD. AFAIK OMV is based on Debian. Will using AMD hardware with OMV cause problems?

My 2nd question is about the casing. I'm planning on using 4 NAS HDD + 1 SSD for the OS. The NAS itself will be used mainly for file server with at most 2 users across several devices, and occasional media streaming (no transcoding). Cos space is an issue, I can't use a mid tower case without remodeling the room. I found a case, Silverstone SG 11, which fits the space perfectly. I've checked Fractal Design Node 804, which aside from cost, I still have to remodel the room cos of it's height. My take is, if I use the 804, the remodeling will allow me to use lower priced mid tower case anyway.

My concern about SG-11 is about airflow & heat, esp HDD heat. I checked commercial NAS builds like QNAP TS-431 and Synology DS-419. Those builds are jam packed with only 1x 4" fan. So, are my concern unfounded about the SG-11 case? Anyone built a NAS with it? The NAS will be on 24/7 unless there's a power outage.

3rd, and last, question is about power supply. Is 430w PSU enough for this build? I may add another NIC (DLink). I'm thinking on Corsair CX-430.

Thanks

• Offizieller Beitrag