Newbie with slow ethernet speeds

• Hi

I installed omv just a few days ago. But I have various problems getting everything to work properly. Not just eth speeds, but I'll stick to that in this sub.
    First off. I'm a Linux newbie as in "I've used Windows All My life until last week" so please use descriptive language even if you think it's too simple and condecending.

I have omv set up on an old hp pavilion slimline s5130. Chucked in a few more disks and went exploring.

But for the life of me I cannot figure out why I only get speeds of about 1.5 Mb/s and often it trickles off to nothing. 5 gigs tænkes anywhere from 30 mins to 2 hours. I feel like I've gone back to the early 2000 era speed wise. :)

What do you great People need to know in order to help a poor Linux convert?

• Offizieller Beitrag

Are you transferring small files?
    Are the speeds write or read or both?
    What kind of disks?
    What kind of switch is it plugged in to?
    I assume the client is Windows?
    If you are connecting via smb/cifs, have you read the threads in Problem #5 here - https://forum.openmediavault.o…tions-to-common-problems/

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• 1 - Some, but even opening a picture from shared (about 5Mb) takes about 5-10 seconds.
    2 - Both write and read is equally slow.
    3 - Fuji 750 Gb sata.
    4 - Generic sagecom ISP router/modem
    5 - Yes. I'm trying out Linux on my main next. Wanted to have a nas up and running first for backup.
    6 - No, but I will and will post back if it helps.

Thanks!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Generic sagecom ISP router/modem

Does it have gigabit ports?