Windows cannot access OPENMEDIAVAULT

• This is the message I'm always getting: "Windows cannot access OPENMEDIAVAULT" when I try to access my folders inside OpenMediaVault-server on my windows 10 computers.

On my first windows 10 laptop it didn't work. But on my old Windows 10 laptop (which wasn't updated for some years) it worked. But after updating the old laptop, it stopped working.
    So first I thought it could've been this: [HOW-TO] Connect to OMV SMB shares with Windows 10 and Microsoft Servers (thanks to @crashtest). My (old) MacBook can still reach it.

but even after fiddling around, I couldn't get it to work!

Anybody knows what the problem could be? And what I could do about it?

PS: I'm a beginner in Linux and therefore also in OMV

• Offizieller Beitrag

From your previous thread, you might have an odd permissions issue.

Try setting up a new share according to this Guide, starting on page 47 (in the current version) - Creating a SMB/CIF “Samba” Network Share. Name it "Test" or something like that. Follow through the set up, then see if you can access it, and copy files to it.

Also note, if you leave your Win10 box up most of the time, it wouldn't hurt anything to reboot it while the server is up.

• In general it's a good idea to try to see at which stage a connection attempt is failing. Is it an issue with service propagation/location (name resolution)? Or something with permissions? To nail this down you could try some steps on each Win10 host and compare:

• In cmd.exe (or whatever the Windows command line is called these days) execute ping openmediavault
    • If this resolves to the IP address of your OMV box, then try to access \\openmediavault
    • In cmd.exe (or whatever the Windows command line is called these days) execute ping openmediavault.local
    • If this resolves to the IP address of your OMV box, then try to access \\openmediavault.local