Slow ethernet speeds

• Hi,

My nas is up and running however it is running at stupidly slow speeds, around 10 megabytes read and write when using a 10 gigabyte file (not multiple smaller files although I have the same problem when I try and transfer lots of small files).

The nas has a 1 gigabit ethernet connection as does my computer which should mean I get around 100+ megabytes of speed.

For the purpose of the test I am using RAID 0 (software through openmediavault) The drives when plugged into my computer get around 60-70 megabytes read and write which should give me over a 100 megabyte read and write when in RAID 0 and over ethernet, however it does not.

If you have any further questions about my nas please ask and as I am new to all of this please use simple and descriptive terms.

Thank you

• Hi, hope to be of help.

Which hardware is connecting both devices, a router or switch? Which model exactly?

NOW:
    Mac mini Late 2012 / macOS Catalina / Docker Desktop for Mac
    Intel Core i7-3615QM CPU @ 2.30GHz - 16GB RAM - 4 external disks via USB3.0 - Gigabit Ethernet - 20 docker containers via docker-compose ;)
    PREVIOUS:
    omv 5.2.1-1 (Usul) - Bevy NUC thanks to TechnoDadLife (NUC5CPYB)
    Celeron N3050 @ 1.60GHz - 8GB RAM - 2 external disks via USB3.0 - Gigabit Ethernet - 21 docker containers via docker-compose :)

• I am afraid we need a lot more information if you want to get help.
    What kind of hardware is the NAS running on?
    What kind of drives are we talking about?
    How are the drives connected to the NAS?
    How do you share the filesystem? Cifs or nfs?
    The next step is to test drive and network seperated. Do you know how to use the shell on the nas?
    iperf for network and iozone for drive benchmarks would be a good way to start.

• The nas has a 1 gigabit ethernet connection as does my computer which should mean I get around 100+ megabytes of speed