docker containers runs as root, ignores PUID/PGID setting

• Hi everybody, I have several docker containers running (i.e. Plex, beets, watchtower) without issues. I'm no expert on docker so if possible I prefer the containers from linuxserver.io, as I found these are easy to setup with consistent settings and good instructions on usage. But I now have one container appears to run as root (which is undesirable).

I set the PUID 1000 and PGID 100 in the container settings, but the docker seems to ignore these. The container isn't from linuxserverio and doesn't have these PUID/PGID fields in the installation guide. But I thought these settings were universal, was that wrong? It would also help to know if this is more likely a problem in the container, or in the OMV Docker plugin. Any help is appreciated on how I can force the right user settings to run the docker.

• Don't use container environment variables from one container with another unless you are sure they are supported.

Is there some reason you did not mention the name of the container you are having problems wit?

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• I set the PUID 1000 and PGID 100 in the container settings, but the docker seems to ignore these. The container isn't from linuxserverio and doesn't have these PUID/PGID fields in the installation guide. But I thought these settings were universal, was that wrong?

sorry PUID & GUID are not universal.

You need to locate a container that splicity use this or simmilar variables to change owner

• It is kind of common to allow a root user inside docker containers to run it. The environmant variables you named are used by a startup script inside the container, it only works if devs did it this exact way.