Create a degraded RAID 1 to add a 2nd disk later

• Hello everyone!

:!: Problem
    OMV's interface won't allow creating a single disk RAID 1 array, it asks for minimum two disks.

:?: Question(s)

So I'm wondering: Can I possibly create a degraded RAID 1 array by hand, but still have it managed in OMV's interface?
    What would be the best way to do that in your opinion?

Please, note that I'm a bit new with RAID and relied greatly on OMV's interface until now. I've seen actual documentation about RAID and mdadm commands but never used it by hand. Therefore, you shall not hesitate to point out actual relevant documentation in this case or useful commands, that will be much helpful and appreciated.

---------

If you want more details to answer and appreciate the situation:
    Context

Goal

Thanks a lot to anyone taking time to help!

• note that I'm a bit new with RAID

Then you should spend a little bit more time with the RAID concepts (especially the laughably useless RAID1 mode) to realize that it's most probably inappropriate for your needs. If you're after data safety RAID is useless. If you're a business and need 'business continuity' then RAID is for you but I would recommend to have a look at way better solutions invented in this century instead of using mdraid's RAID1 implementation.

• I'm not THAT new with the idea of RAID and all the theory about it. I'm passionate about IT and I'm also a Linux sysadmin...
    I've just not been handling the server installation and RAID rebuilding part myself, which is why I'm weirdly experienced with Linux (enough for some to call me an expert) but just not that much with RAID. I'm also more comfortable with resizing virtual disk images and file systems than working with physical drives and mdadm.