OMV4 install on Raspberry Pi 3B+ No Network Interface(s) found

• Apologies in advance for any shortcomings, I am a beginner with Raspberry Pi and this is my first attempt at setting up OMV on an ARM device (having done it several times though with full laptops or computers)
    I followed an installation process, which seems very similar to many others I have found since. These steps were performed with Raspberry Pi 3 B+, which I believe from the boot log info is ARMv7

download this image - OMV_4_Raspberry_Pi_2_3_3Plus.img.xz
    burn it to SD card with Etcher
    pop it in the Pi and boot the board (after all cables connected)
    wait for install process to complete and Pi to reboot

However, I noticed straight away none of the Ethernet link lights were showing, and on reboot I see "No Network Interface(s) found".
    I thought maybe I had gotten a bad device. But, I was able to burn Raspian to another SD card and boot the board with no issues, all ethernet and Wifi controllers worked fine.

thanks in advance

• I found some of your other posts, and I think maybe this issue was me trying to connect a monitor during the boot/install.
    I just flashed the SD card again and I am about to try the suggested "connect nothing but ethernet and power" approach. I will let it run through the install and update process and then verify if I am able to ping via DNS name.

• This could be just a timing issue. What does happen if you use another machine in your network and do there a simple ping raspberrypi and ping raspberrypi.local?

I let this install alone for several hours. When I ping raspberrypi, it appears my router has assigned an address of 192.168.*.*, but the ping test fails with timeout

• using host name and not IP address

Just to elaborate on this: