Moving External USB Drive to another port.

• I am new to OMV, just got it set up on an old Dell T100 server. Internal hard drive space is very limited (2 drives) So I have opted for some externals. So here is my question.

I am going to install a USB 3.0 PCI card into the server. I want to move the one USB hard drive to the ports on the USB 3.0 card for faster transfer. But it already has data and is mounted into the system with shares set up. If I move it do I risk losing the data as it might change the drive designation (sdb1) ?

Can the data remain on the drive and be mounted re-mounted after the port swap without doing a format?

Any help will be appreciated. thanks

• Offizieller Beitrag

If I move it do I risk losing the data as it might change the drive designation (sdb1) ?

Your drive device name (/dev/sdb1) may change, but the data will still be on the drive.

Can the data remain on the drive and be mounted re-mounted after the port swap without doing a format?

Yes - don't reformat - the drive can be remounted (under Storage, Filesystems). After mounting, check your shares to see if they exist and are on the network.

The following may not be necessary - but is provided if needed:

Existing shared folders, on the drive, can be re-pointed to the new device under Access Rights Management, Shared Folders. Edit a share and the following dialog box appears. In the drop down Device menu, select the appropriate drive/device label. (Device name to label info can be found in Storage, Filesystems.)

Once a shared folder is re-pointed, the SMB (network) share layered onto it will follow. Repeat for the remaining shared folders on this drive.

• Sweet, that is what I was hoping. Now to get a Sata power extension so I can run my USB PCI card. Thank you

As drives are mounted "by-label" there should me no issue if the device name changes (sda, sdb, sdc).

Thank you as well.

• I am going to install a USB 3.0 PCI card into the server