New folders do not inherit permissions [SOLVED]

• I have set up sabnzbd in a docker to download various files (tv and movies, depending on the type). I have two different folders set up for each type - \movies and \tv_shows. Both shares are available in both samba and cifs. The problem I am having is that when a new movie folder is created under \movie sabnzbd can not rename it (presumably in cifs share). I have the same issue in samba while trying to rename from windows. If I go to omv and re-apply the permissions via the UI I can then re-name the folder and all files underneath it. I do not have the same problem with the tv shows. I've compared all of the settings and they look identical. I set everything to run as root just eliminate a variable - no joy. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated (I am not a Linux expert by any stretch of the imagination).

• Offizieller Beitrag

Nothing here so I asked the same question in the "general" area

Don't do that. I will move the thread. I removed the other thread.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

The first question I'd ask, is this a new setup or has this configuration worked before?

You're assuming that this is a permissions related problem when, in fact, it may be a configuration item in the Docker itself.

What I would look at first is the sabnzbd docker itself.
    - First, the docker may need a UID or GID set in its configuration.
    - Second, would be taking a look at the volumes and mount points for the docker.
    - Third would be examining the setup of this particular docker, against the authors recommended setup, as it's laid out on the Docker Hub.