First NAS - Parts selection advice

• Hello Everyone !

Here my adventure begins building my first Nas.
    Our need is basically :

[*]Obviously saving files and securing local and remote access (I'm a photographer, she's a Graphic designer, we've approximately 20Tb of DATA for now only for archives)
    [*]Sharing files with our clients
    [*]Receiving files from our clients
    [*]Using it as a media center, Plex, that some friend will use too to stream and to drop files
    [*]Probably being able to launch a couple of VMs to test different browsers versions and so on
    [*]Probably being able to launch a VM as a backup machine in case our first AND secondary computers got stolen or broken
    [/list]
    I picked different parts as following, knowing my budget would be around 800€ w/out the HD (we already have 4x10Tb Ironwolves + some other RED drives btwn 4 and 2TB)

Part List :

CPU : AMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Motherboard : Asus B450M-A
    RAM : G.Skills Ripjaws V Black DDR4 2x8Gb 3200MHz CAS16
    GPU : Asus GeForce GT710 1Gb Passive
    System SSD : Intel 760P Series M.2 - 128Gb
    Case : Fractal Design Node 804 Black Window
    Power : Seasonic FOCUS Plus 550 Gold

What would be your opinion on this ?
    The CPU Cooler would be the one delivered with the CPU.
    The Fans would be (for now ?) the 3 fans delivered with the case (1x120mm Silent Series R2 fan 1000RPM at front, 2 at the back).

We plan to have a minimum of 6 hard drives for now, and we'll extend it to 8 to 10 (but we'll need a PCI-E to SATA board extension at some point as the Motherboard only have 6 SATA connectors).

Thanks for your help !

Cheers from France,
    Jonathan

---

Geeky photographer, brand new to the Open Source & NAS world, much to learn, few to share but happy to !

• Offizieller Beitrag