OMV5 on Raspbian Buster: Website not working

• I tried to set up OMV on a Raspberry Pi4, Debian Buster (with desktop) and no other software installed. I followed https://forum.openmediavault.o…OMV5-on-Debian-10-Buster/

After a reboot, I cannot connect to the web interface, neither locally, nor via LAN.

Error message: "localhost refused to connect"

nginx is up and running (4 worker threads) -- no error messages in journalctl after a restart
    omv-engined is up and running

Files in /var/www/openmediavault exist.

/etc/nginx/sites-enabled/ is empty
    /etc/nginx/sites-available/ contains only "default"
    /etc/nginx/openmediavault-webgui.d/ is empty

No firewall has been set up.

Any ideas?

• Some further rumblings on my way to get everything up and running. Take it with a grain of salt (or two), as I am an absolute beginner with nginx, OMV, and possibly other topics that may be touched in here.

1st insight: nginx seems not to know about the OMV with site files (empty sites-enabled).
    - Created a /etc/nginx/sites-available/openmediavault from /etc/nginx/sites-available/default,
    - modified "root" line to point to /var/www/openmediavault
    - appended "index" line to include "index.php".
    - Restarted nginx service:

Code
    sudo service nginx restart

Result: http://localhost/ now causes a download of /var/www/openmediavault/index.php

2nd insight: nginx delivers php-files instead of parsing them.
    - Uncomment section below "pass PHP scripts to FastCGI server" (using php-fpm, but not php-cgi),
    - restart nginx service.
    Result: PHP is now executed, but OMV yields an error message:

Code
    Error #0:
    OMV\Exception: Failed to open file (filename=/var/cache/openmediavault/cache.omv\controlpanel\login_js.json, mode=w+). in /usr/share/php/openmediavault/json/file.inc:78
    Stack trace:
    #0 /usr/share/php/openmediavault/controlpanel/controlpanelabstract.inc(182): OMV\Json\File->open('w+')