Copy files from NTFS drive to OMV

• First and foremost, I'd just like to mention that I have been reading (Solutions to common problems thread, Google, etc.) and troubleshooting my issue for a few days now and asking for help online is the absolute last resort.

I am a novice linux user but have managed to successfully install OMV, Plex Container, UnionFS, Shared Folders, Shellinabox, etc.

My 8TBs of data are on a single external hard drive in an NTFS file system that was previously used on my Windows 10 machine. The drive is mounted in OMV and has been added as a shared folder. The root folder contains structured folders for data, videos, music, games, etc.

I am aware that NTFS is trash and do not intend to use it. I simply want to copy the data directly to the 14TB pool, reformat the drive to ext4, and then use it as a backup. I may even just shuck it and just add it as an internal drive.

Rsync seemed like the simplest solution. I setup up a job and added the source (external) and destination. When I run the job, it immediately finishes, displaying little to no data transfers.

I fired up Krusader and can only see the root folder of the external drive, no subfolders.

I'm still trying to fully grasp permission issues and know there are plenty regarding NTFS. However, I thought I could simply copy the files straight over and be done with it.

I'm about ready to just start transferring 8TB of data over my network but I am hoping there is a simpler (faster) solution and that I am just missing something or misunderstanding the issue all together.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I would login to the OMV NAS remotely using SSH. Then install Midnight Commander, mc, and use that to move files around. Midnight Commander is an extremely powerful, but easy to use, filemanager that runs in text mode, including via SSH.

Or possibly rsync on the command line. If the drive is mounted on the NAS then it is simple:

rsync -a source destination