Newb questions re OMV and Raspberry Pi 4

• I'm new to OMV and the Raspberry Pi, but I'd like to build a Pi 4-based NAS to which I plan on backing up my Win10 PC using Macrium Reflect via Gigabit Ethernet using PoE as the sole source of power.

1. Any reasons why this won't work? Any issues I should be aware of?
    2. The series of beginner videos here on the forum look like they're perfect to get me started. I've just glanced at them so far, but one comment stuck out: you need to use powered drives. I'd like to use a single spinning disc (for capacity) and was hoping it could be powered by one of the USB 3 ports on the Pi 4. Has anyone successfully tried this yet (maybe on a Pi 3)? Am I out of luck?
    3. It looks like OMV v5 is supposed to support the Pi 4 and v4 does not. True? I know the v5 beta's available now. Any ETA on the final?

Thanks!

• 1. Any reasons why this won't work? Any issues I should be aware of?

I don´t know "Macrium Reflect" but as long as you can use a network drive as location this should work.

2. The series of beginner videos here on the forum look like they're perfect to get me started. I've just glanced at them so far, but one comment stuck out: you need to use powered drives. I'd like to use a single spinning disc (for capacity) and was hoping it could be powered by one of the USB 3 ports on the Pi 4. Has anyone successfully tried this yet (maybe on a Pi 3)? Am I out of luck?

I have an 2,5" external SSD working without separate power source (RPI4) . I´d highly suggest to use 3,5" just with external power.

3. It looks like OMV v5 is supposed to support the Pi 4 and v4 does not. True? I know the v5 beta's available now. Any ETA on the final?

Not true. However I´ve not tested v4 as I directly tested OMV5. For ETA take a look here: ETA for OMV 5.0 - weeks, months, quarters, 2020?