Moving Docker base location - the saf(er) way??

• Hello,

[Context]
    Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been using OMV for about 18 months.

I came from Synology, and WAS running OMV 3 (with my RAID5 / BTRFS array I brought across from the Synology platform - guess what happened after I replaced a dead disk in my array... :thumbdown: )

So I've been building a new OMV4.X based system with UnionFS and SnapRAID, restored my data from backup, started adding in my docker containers, and am now having some issues. My old OMV 3 platform was on an 8GB USB drive with the flash memory plugin, with 21 containers running, and everything was fine.

[Problem] I''ve only got 7 containers, and I'm already running out of space on my 8GB system drive. I have a seperate drive, outside of my UnionFS pool, which holds all my Docker volumes (/config etc). The /var/lib/docker directory is consuming almost all of the available free space.

(I've tried MULTIPLE times to expand this - I'veu sed cloneZilla to migrate this to a brand new 32GB USB drive, but GPARTED simply refuses to expand the existing partitions X( ...a seperate thread for another time pehaps).

So I'm looking to change the Docker Base Path, and have read both of the following posts

Move docker /var/lib/docker folder on external drive
    docker base path

What is my best approach? Should I simply change the path in the webui, or edit the daemon.json code?

My requirements is that this be as simple as possible, and would like for this to persist beyond upgrades, and not rely on my remembering to change something etc.

Really appreciate any assistance or advice you can provide.

Thanks.

• Offizieller Beitrag

but GPARTED simply refuses to expand the existing partitions

?( That's odd I have done this myself when I noticed that my 32GB USB Flash Drive was not showing all the available space you have to do this using gparted live, there is an option for that in OMV-Extras -> Kernel.