NFs permissions GID/UID

• Hello all,

I am a beginner to OMV. I am trying to use autofs in conjunction with NFs to create shares. I have been able to get the share showing up and can even enter the share. But cannot write any files to the share unfortunately. through my research I discovered that I needed to set the UID and GID and I was able to do that, but I still do not have access to my shares. Please help me to figure out my missing link, thanks.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Accessing the shares from another linux server or desktop?

The uid/gid are number id's associated with user accounts, look at /etc/passwd. Since there is no security in NFS as authentication(unless you are using kerberos) let's say root user mounts nfs remote share, then he can do whatever he wants. I think by default omv uses all_squash, which prevents any root client or other from at least writing reducing them to the anonymous user. So maybe you can try in the extra options of the nfs share anongid=100,anonuid=1000, that means the root user or others will be presented with those id's. 100 gid is the users group, fairly standard across linux distros. So if the share has right permissions to the "users" group should be good to go

Or you can simply add no_root_squash in extra options, should give you more freedom as root user. NFS is not easy for beginners, maybe try SMB

https://linux.die.net/man/5/exports

• I do have some experience with NFS and would like to use it because I mount another remote server through NFS as well. I am trying to access the shares from another computer on the same local network yes. I have given the shares what I think is the right permissions for a user in the GID=100 but when I add that to both the server in extra options and my autofs settings no luck still, though when I remove it I get permission denied so it is needed.

these are my current settings, extra options

subtree_check,insecure,anongid=100 - with RW privilege

my autofs mount settings