Bad Samba Performance

• Hi,

this is my first Post in the forum, so please forgive me some errors i might make especially in language (my writing skills in english are not really good). I'm willing to learn and open for tipps and feedback. Also i'm a beginner at linux, network tech and openmediavault.

I have a Performance Problem with my samba share since i switched from OMV3 to OMV4. On the old OMV3 System i got 100mbit or more when i was transfering files in the network and about the same Performance when i'm transfering files between drives in the System. On the new System i get consistent 90mbit on the Network and the most time lower rates between drives. Weirdly the performance between the drives is often not consistent sometimes 40-50 mbit and at the maximum 90mbit. The Hardware configuration didn't really change betwenn the Systems.

8GB DDR4 Ram
    Intel Pentium G4600
    Intel B250 chipset
    Gigabit Lan
    some WD Red NAS Drives with SATA 6GB connected.

My Router is a FritzBox 7490

I Did some test's and analysed the BIOS settings. All the drives are running on full speed and the Network Performance between the Server and the FritzBox are normal. The Server has the newest OMV version and all updates. I know there are SAMBA Tunning options here in the Forum but i tried all of them in different config's and nothing was helping. Often the Tunning Options made the Performance worse than before. I'm trying to solve the Problem for days now and i have no idea what i can do. I know that my Samba speeds are not so bad, but i'm a perfectionist and i want to pull out the maximum of Performance from a Gigabit LAN Network.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I suspect that you sometimes confuse mb/s (megabit per second) with (megabyte per second) in your description. Otherwise you have serious problems and/or junk infrastructure/hardware.