Reacreating containers maintaining settings

• Hi all,

Im rather new to Docker as I just installed the Docker plugin (running Plex, Emby, Transmission-OpenVPN) in the last month.

While my containers were running, a new version of Plex was released and I realized that in order to upgrade I had to stop the running container, start a new container based on the new image while pointing at the existing configuration.
    I soon realized that I had to set again all he options (paths, PUID, PGID, etc.); while this I straight forward for Plex and Emby (5 shares, 3 options), it would be a pain for Transmission-OpenVPN where I customized 30 or more options.

So, here comes my question.
    Is there a way to backup/store a configuration file and then start a new container using this file (without having to set again manually all the options)?

Thank you all.

Best regard,
    Tommy

HP MicroServer Gen 8
    HP DL360e Gen 8 + HP StorageWorks D2700

HP DL380e Gen 8 + HP StorageWorks D2600

• While my containers were running, a new version of Plex was released and I realized that in order to upgrade I had to stop the running container, start a new container based on the new image while pointing at the existing configuration.

What you did is not the correct procedure to update Plex for the Linuxserver.io image. All you needed to do was restart the container. This downloads and installs the latest available version of Plex Media Server within the container itself.

One thing to keep in mind is that the version of the docker container and the version of the software the container runs are two different things.

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• Thank you @KM0201.

I had seen the video from TechnoDadLife about WhatchTower but I haven’t used it yet.
    Is that generally what people do?