How do you backup?

• Hi at all!

I would like to find an elegant way to make backups of the entire operating system. My idea is to create a sharedfolder to store the whole disk sda. Then weekly incremental updates would be useful. This way, I would always have a system backup with me when backing up all sharedfolders to a USB disk. Is there anyone here who does that? Or do you have better suggestions and how would they be roughly implemented?

Thanks!

• Offizieller Beitrag

The OS drive? Honestly, I don't. It's not worth the hassle to me.

I can be from a blank OS drive to everything installed and setup, in about 45-60min... I'd spend more than that trying to image drives, rotate backups, etc. and probably doing it way more frequently than I reinstall.

I guess if I had some major customization's it would be worthwhile, but I've been using OMV for several years now, and I've never bothered.

• You can use Clonezilla for offline backup in images of the boot drive.

OMVExtras > Kernel

Thing is automation might be tricky/impossible on that regard.

And it will be offline, not while system is running in order to get all the boot data from the drive.

NOW:
    Mac mini Late 2012 / macOS Catalina / Docker Desktop for Mac
    Intel Core i7-3615QM CPU @ 2.30GHz - 16GB RAM - 4 external disks via USB3.0 - Gigabit Ethernet - 20 docker containers via docker-compose ;)
    PREVIOUS:
    omv 5.2.1-1 (Usul) - Bevy NUC thanks to TechnoDadLife (NUC5CPYB)
    Celeron N3050 @ 1.60GHz - 8GB RAM - 2 external disks via USB3.0 - Gigabit Ethernet - 21 docker containers via docker-compose :)

• Backups with FileZilla will not be bootable though. If you need no bootable backup and only backup of the directories themselves it should work.

Logging in with the root account with FileZilla
    (FileZilla's name reminds me of STOPZilla, pup-up blocker, totally unrelated to topic though :D)

NOW: