What am I missing trying to configure static IP adress?

• Hi all,

I'm following The Getting Started guide, since I am very new to OMW and servers in general.

After I try to set a static IP adress, stuff starts going wrong.

What am I missing?

I've set
    IPv4
    Method - Static
    Adress - 192.168.0.201
    netmask - 255.255.255.0
    gateway - 192.168.0.1

IPv6
    Method - disabled

Advanced settings
    DNS servers - 1.1.1.1
    Search domains - ??? (no idea what needs to be filled in here)
    MTU - 1500
    Wake on Lan - off

Here's an example of an error I get trying to update a package

• Offizieller Beitrag

You specified wrong settings. Perhaps your gateway should be something else. Perhaps the ip should be something else.

Login to your router and check the settings used for DHCP in it.

It is a good idea to not only set a fixed ip in OMV but also specify a static lease of that IP, for that device, in the router. Then you can also assign a name to the server.

Start with asigning a fixed lease to OMV in the routef, then change in OMV.

• Hi Adoby,

Pretty sure IP adress, gateway, netmask are the correct settings.

The DNS server should also be okay? For the MTU value I used the same value as I saw in the system monitor when DHCP was still on.

Maybe I can try a different IP address, maybe I've picked one which is already in use or not allowed?

Unfortunately my router is only accesable through my ISP's website and has very limited options. There is no way to set a static lease for certain IP's...

• I'm just installing OMV for the very first time. It's pretty much still a clean in install

I'm following the "Getting started guide", I'm at the point where I'm setting the static IP, but then I noticed something went wrong because I couldn't run any updates with static IP, whilst if I revert to DHCP I can run the updates.
    (this guide https://forum.openmediavault.o…rted-with-Openmediavault/)