Openmediavalt 4 not seeing MegaRAID SAS 2108

• Hi guys,
    I have Openmediavalt 4 with a MegaRAID SAS 2108 [Liberator] Raid card
    The card sees my 4 drives

Code
    root@storage:~# megasasctl
    a0       LSI MegaRAID SAS 9260-8i encl:1 ldrv:0  batt:FAULT, module missing, pack missing, charge failed
    unconfigured:  a0e252s4  a0e252s5  a0e252s6  a0e252s7
    a0e252s4   5589GiB        ready
    a0e252s5   5589GiB        ready
    a0e252s6   5589GiB        ready
    a0e252s7   5589GiB        ready

But the GUI doesn't see the drives

Plus, what is better, Hardware or Software Raid?
    I'm new to Raid cards, any help will be appreciated

• Offizieller Beitrag

I agree with @subzero79 . If you really want to run RAID, software RAID is better. With software RAID, if you decide to transfer your drives to another host, they'll be recognized as a RAID array on the new host. Software RAID is much more flexible, when compared to some hardware controllers.

Some cards will operate in "IT mode" which allows transparent drive pass through. According to what I found on the MegaRAID 2108, it has a pass through mode. If set for pass through mode, OMV4 will see the drives and be able create a software RAID array and format it. Otherwise, if the card is used to set up an array, the array will appear to OMV as one large disk, which can then be formatted.

This -> manual for the MegaRAID 2108 may (or may not) cover the BIOS version on your card. You'll need to access the BIOS of your card to set it up for "pass through" or for RAID operation. On the other hand, if you want to use it as a hardware RAID controller, setting up the array is usually done in the card's BIOS.

In any case, the tech info you need should be available in a Google search.

• Offizieller Beitrag