Setup Question. Appdata no such file or directory

• hi everyone,
    hoping someone can help me with this.....

so i'm trying to install nextcloud following Techno Dad's video.
    when I get to the part where you go into shellinthebox, type cd /sharedfolders/appdata/nextclouddb/ I get /Appdata: no such file or directory.
    I confirmed that the file is there, it showes all of them but when I try accessing it no luck.

Am I missing something here? permissions issue? I installed plex using his video and had no issues, it's up and running fine but
    this one has me banging my head. I also went to my server directly with keyboard and monitor hooked up and same thing.
    This is a new build I've only had up and running for about a week and my knowledge is very limited. been building computers since the early 90's but
    they have always windows based.

Appreciate the help. ;( i'm a total noob at Linux and openmediavault.

• Hi,

It seems like you have folder's permission issue.
    Go to the 'sharefolders' in OMV, and grant the user (yourself), and Docker the full permissions use Privileges to AppData.

OMV v5.0
    Asus Z97-A/3.1; i3-4370
    32GB RAM Corsair Vengeance Pro

• Offizieller Beitrag

Did you create a folder called "Appdata"? If not, do so in the webUI. It sounds like you never created the directory. Also, keep in mind that directories are case sensitive in command line, so "appdata" is different than "AppData" and "Appdata". Either of these situations could cause a directory not found response.

It's not a permission issue. If it was a permission issue you would get "Permission Denied". You've either not created the directory or you're typing the path in incorrectly.

• well, my user was correct and changed permissions under shared folders/ ACL for appdata for docker to read/write but still no change.