Powerful enough system?

• Hello everyone,

I've recently obtained a small form factor ThinkCentre M58p and wonder if it's going to be powerful enough for the usage I have in mind. (I have some Linux experience but this'd be my first time using OMV, or any NAS solution for that matter.)

Usage would be mainly as a network share for my desktop workstation/laptop/tablet and to stream media to an Nvidia Shield TV (so transcoding probably isn't required).
    The other possible usage would be as an NVR for two to four security cameras, to be determined.

Current specs:
    CPU: Intel Pentium E5400 (dual core, 2.7 GHz)
    RAM: 2GB DDR3 1333 MHz
    HDD: some old 250GB
    LAN: built-in 1GB Ethernet

Motherboard has an Intel Q45 Express chipset with two SATA ports and USB 2.0 only. I'm thinking of installing OMV on a USB 2.0 stick, is that sensible or am I asking for trouble?

My plan is to upgrade what's required, without spending too much on this (circa 2009) machine either; this is another item where I'd like your input.

CPU: Is the dual core part enough or should I look at a Core 2 Quad Q9550 from eBay?
    RAM: 4, 8 or 16 GB? (what about ZFS? how much more RAM and CPU does that require?)
    HDD: thinking of a single WD Red, probably 4TB.

Thanks,

Darkshado

• My old Atom 1x 1,6GHz & 2GB RAM runs smooth with a maximum of 3 Users.

I cant talk about transcoding and i dont use ZFX.
    (For NVR purpose: Do you know about ZoneMinder?)

I tried an installation on a USB-Stick and after 2 hours i decidet to buy a SSD. It wasnt a "high-end" stick so that may have caused the slow system. I also read about corrupted files after weeks or some months.
    Any HDD or SSD will be a better choice i would asume.

Bilder

Hardware: AsRock Q1900 (inside case of modified ThinkCentre A57e, type 6306), 4GB RAM, 120GB SSD (BX500), 3TB HDD (WD30EZRX)