Newbie trying to build a little NAS for family photos

• After operating two external drives on my Asus Chromebox for some years, I recently discovered that (at least) one of them is having bad sectors. Since I don't want to jeopardise my digital family memories, I want to switch to a more robust setup with OMV on the Chromebox and two 2 TB Ironwolfs in an external Icy Box case. Since I am new to the OMV family, I appreciate any hints or advice to my planned setup. OMV4 is already installed on the Chromebox and I have made the first steps with it (the HDDs were not yet delivered).

My plan is to operate the two HDDs separately (i.e. no RAID), writing to disk A and rsync the files to disk B as a backup. I also plan on regularly making an off-site backup to an external volume. I would prefer to let rsync run without --delete flag to avoid any loss due to accidental deletion on drive A.

In the beginning I was thinking about a RAID 1 setup, but apart from the photos I also automatically copy recordings from TV (from my cable receiver) to drive A , which are then directly uploaded to the cloud and deleted after upload from the drive. So these files do not need to be mirrored and mirroring them only increases writings without any purpose in my opinion. Future usage might change, but currently this is what is planned.

As file system for the discs I thought about keeping things simple using ext4 on both drives, but I have no experience with the other formats (XFS, ZFS, BTRFS) and if they offer any advantages in my case.

So if you have any comments/hints on my setup please let me know. If I posted in the wrong section, please move to a more appropriate area.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I think your plans sounds excellent. Go for it!

Using two separate drives, one for shared data and one for rsync backups/snapshots, is a simple and very robust setup.